On account of the disruption in education due to the corona pandemic, we're are providing a 7-day Free trial of our platform to teachers. Know More →

Decoding the new National Education Policy


Mit Kotecha


July 31, 2020
National Education Policy

The 5+3+3+4 model will now replace the archaic school education system. The changes in the framework of the education policy will usher in a new era of Indian education.

The Union Cabinet approved a new National Education Policy (NEP) which is overturning the school education system in the country. The Cabinet also changed the name of the HRD Ministry to ‘Education Ministry’. 

The entire existing system is being revamped to usher in a 5+3+3+4 curriculum structure. The 5+3+3+4 curriculum will replace the archaic 10+2 system.

5+3+3+4 corresponds to the age groups 3-8, 8-11, 11-14 and 14-18, respectively. School curriculum has been divided into four stages of learning. Following is a detailed break-up of the four steps.

Foundational Years (Age: 3-8)

First five years will be the Foundational Years. It will consist of three years of pre-school or Anganwadi education and two years of primary school. Primary education will include classes 1 and 2. These are the building blocks of a student’s life and will consist of activity-based learning.

Preparatory Stage (Age: 8-11)

The next three years will be a Preparatory Stage which will cover classes 3, 4, and 5. This stage will ensure that the student is immersed in experimental learning and learns new things which may or may not be directly related to the course material. Students during these years will be encouraged to discover ideas while learning. Teachers, at the same time, will be asked to introduce interactive classroom learning measures.

Middle Stage (Age: 11-14)

The next three crucial years will be the Middle Stage. In this stage, the teaching will focus on core subjects like Mathematics, Social Science, Science, Arts. Additionally, the focus will shift from bookish knowledge to experiential learning. 

Secondary Stage (Age: 14-18)

The final stage is called the Secondary Stage and will delve into much complex learning. Critical learning and analytical thinking will be the cornerstone of the secondary stage. Students will be spoilt for choice with multiple subjects to choose from. Hence, multidisciplinary education will be at center-stage.

Key points of NEP

Push for online education

With the NEP, there is a big push for going digital with education. Consequently, teachers will have to incorporate technology into their teaching. Part of the NEP is to aim at making distance learning a norm by 2030. Online teaching methods, including online classes, online tests, learning via Virtual Reality, and tech labs, will be given an extra push.

MegaExams is a trailblazer in the quest to make online education accessible to all with their easy-to-use online exam software. An online test platform, MegaExams is committed to working to build a better education system for our students.